RELATIONSHIP: THE NEED TO CONCENTRATE MORE ON OUR STRENGTHS THAN WEAKNESSES by Temitope Oluwafemi

“Quenched the violence of fire, escaped the edge of the sword, *out of weakness were made strong*, waxed valiant in fight, turned to flight the armies of the aliens.” (the holy book, Bible)

*The Conversation*
(with tears in both partner’s eyes)
Kate: why am I even here? Why am I even in this relationship?
John: why are you here? Are you not seeing the reason why you are here again?
Kate: yes, I’m not, things don’t seem to look the way it used to, now you cause me hurts almost every day, sometimes, I act all is fine *without* but *within* things aren’t so fine.
John: Kate, you changed too, you treat me like trash, now you make more mistakes than ever. the true happiness is missing, but this wasn’t how we started.
Kate: I make mistakes? what about you? I see flaws in you everyday of my life, yesterday you did this, today you did that, everyday I see mistakes in you.
John: talking like you don’t make mistakes. In fact I see nothing in you than your mistakes, and it pisses me off. You do nothing right anymore.
Kate: I’m dooooonnnn………..

*No don’t, Let me come in here lovers 💏*

*OUR WEAKNESS vs OUR STRENGTH*

From the dialog above, it will be interesting to let us know that both partners only see the mistakes in their relationship, most times in life we make judgment based on the fact that we concentrate mostly on the mistakes people make, and the fact remains that, when you concentrate on the mistakes, weaknesses and flaws in people, you only see these things in them, their strengths becomes invisible to you.

Kate and John admitted that wasn’t how they started, Yes! They started by concentrating on their strength, John accepted to love Kate because he wanted both her strength and weakness, likewise Kate to John. I believe they both have better options, but love made them fit for each other.

*”Love can make you look beyond the bridges of trouble and make you optimistic.”*

According to the text scripture, out of our weakness was our strength molded out. Literally this means, their is more strength in us than weakness, just that we aren’t seeing them. Our eyes are only open to flaws, just like John and his partner Kate.

*”Understand that our expectations influence our preparation and our preparation determine our results”*

Question 1
What have you been expecting from your partner? His flaws or mistakes?

Then whatever he or she does, all you see is flaws.

This is applicable to African parents too! (that’s not my focus for today)

*”FOCUS ON YOUR STRENGTH THAN CHANGING YOUR WEAKNESSES”*
Study had revealed that, when most times, we focus on changing our weaknesses in relationships than our each other’s strengths.
But in the real sense, this is how it works, *focusing on our strengths, building on our strengths, makes us gradually overcome our weaknesses.*

For the success of any relationship, both partners should put this into consideration.

*”our weakness makes us make the wrong decisions while our strengths does the opposite”*

This should make us know that there are much power in our strength than weaknesses.

Well, patience is the key to unlocking the locks of strength. Did you just asked yourself if you haven’t been patient?
Yes you have, but don’t see your patience as a waste, if love is still in your heart, you will fight for what you love.

You are in it together, then fight it together. The battle is for the strong (strength) and not for the weak (weaknesses).

Think about it Kate and John!

Kate: I’m sorry John, I sorry I have not been seeing you at your best, I’m sorry I have overtook your weaknesses in place of your strengths. I promise to join hands with you as we build on your strengths together. I’m in it with you, together, forever.

John: I’m so sorry Kate, your weakness has over shadowed the way I see you. I find weakness, flaws and mistakes in whatever you do and say. I’m sorry baby, I promise to join hands with yours, help us, pray for us.
So help us God.

Written by
*Temitope Oluwafemi*
*07064256222*

We will be glad to get feedbacks (your experience) from you, thank you.